Eight FirstPort retirement developments have been shortlisted in the Elderly Accommodation Counsel (EAC) Awards 2017.

The eight developments have been selected out of almost 25,000 retirement housing schemes or developments nationwide.

Shortlisted developments

Barnes Wallis Court, Byfleet, Surrey / Winner
Llys Pegasus, Llanishen, Cardiff / Winner
Merryfield Court, Tonbridge, Kent / Winner
Grasmere Court, Worthing, West Sussex / Commended
Hardys Court, Weymouth, Dorset / Commended
Pegasus Court, Buckhurst Hill, Essex / Commended
Penn Court, Calne, Wiltshire / Commended
Souchay Court, Manchester / Commended

The awards, now in their 7th year, celebrate the best specialist housing for older people, and aim to help shape the future of housing in later life through engaging over ten thousand residents, staff, visitors and volunteers who were all able to vote for their favourite scheme.

Keith Shields, Managing Director of FirstPort Retirement Property Services, said:

“The fact that we have eight developments in the shortlist is a testament to how much our residents enjoy all that development living has to offer. Whether it’s the active social life, the safety and security of having 24/7 assistance if required, or simply having an easy to run home, retirement living has never been so popular.”

The EAC Awards will be celebrated at Edgbaston Cricket Ground, Birmingham on 16 May 2017 where the bronze, silver and gold awards winners will be announced.