Three FirstPort retirement living developments have celebrated a win at the National Housing for Older People Awards, with a further five retirement developments commended.

Residents from across the UK voted in the awards which are managed by the national housing charity for older people, the Elderly Accommodation Counsel (EAC). The awards, now in their 7th year, celebrate the best specialist housing for older people. They aim to help shape the future of housing in later life through engaging over ten thousand residents, staff, visitors and volunteers who were all able to vote for their favourite scheme out of the 1,180 nominated.

The three winning developments are Llys Pegasus in Cardiff (a Silver winner), Barnes Wallis Court in Surrey (a Bronze winner), and Merryfield Court in Kent (a Bronze winner). The five commended developments are: Grasmere Court in Worthing, Hardys Court in Weymouth, Pegasus Court in Buckhurst Hill, Penn Court in Calne and Souchay Court in Manchester.

Keith Shields, Managing Director of FirstPort Retirement Property Services, commented: “We’ve had another fantastic year at the EAC awards, building on our success from last year. With eight of our developments either a winner or commended this truly demonstrates how hard each development team works to foster and nurture a fantastic sense of community spirit.”

John Galvin, EAC’s Chief Executive, explained the importance of the awards: "Specialist housing for older people plays an enormously significant role in helping them stay independent for longer. The security, support and great communities have a positive impact on individuals and reduce the need for NHS services.”

Barnes Wallis Court: (L-R): John Camp, resident; Helen Rudkin Area Manager; Margaret Frances, resident; Kevin Martin, Estate Manager; Keith Shields, Managing Director for FirstPort Retirement Property Services.

Merryfield Court: (L-R) Rowland Adams, resident; Penny Mitchell, resident; Lesley Betts, Development Manager; Sharon Davis, Area Manager

Llys Pegasus: Residents Heulwen Egerton, Mrs G Roderick and Mrs M Hurst collecting their award